Sister Team: Krista Anne

This is the first of a series of short posts on the Sister Team, so you can get to know a little more about us and why we created The Makery.
My name is Krista Anne and I am the youngest of the sister team, born and raised in Durham, NC. We grew up on this sweet mini-farm near the South Point area, where we had horses, chickens, goats, a pig and a bunch of dogs.It was a pretty idyllic scene, and it made me very thankful for the place and community I grew up in. I loved that house so much, I even got a tattoo of our address when I turned eighteen. (I know, I know…)

(Brita designed it for me!)

Currently, I’m a senior at a small liberal arts school in Illinois. And although Galesburg, Il. is a pretty rockin’ town, my experience away has definitely filled me with a new appreciation for the awesomeness that is NORTH CAROLINA!

(A busy Saturday afternoon in Galesburg)

Although I am not a craftsman or a visual artist, I do spend most of my time at school involved in other types of art, like creative writing and dance. I’m even taking an experimental typography class, which has been a lot of fun.

Besides writing and dance, I’m getting  interested in entrepreneurship and the tech world. After a series of internships, with Sifteo (so cool, gotta check it out) and True Ventures (an awesome group of people), I became inspired by the emerging tech I was exposed to, and the world of opportunity it creates for us.

I think the Makery is cool because it makes use of the new and proven trend of online private sales, or flash sale sites (such as Ideeli, Gilt Groupe and fab.com) to benefit the hardworking, talented artists around us. And I think people will really love the items that we offer, and jump at the opportunity to get quality, one of a kind shirts, bags, prints, kitchenware, etc at a great price. I’m really excited about putting our project on Kickstarter, bringing it to life and launching our first sales.

(Let’s do this thang!)

Thanks, guys!

Stay tuned form more about the sister team, plus profiles on some local artists!!

Leave a Reply

