Sister Team: Sarah Rose

Hi everyone, my name is Sarah Rose and I’m very pleased to meet you! I thought I’d tell you a little about myself so you can continue getting to know the Sister Team at The Makery.

The sisters in Mexico for Krista’s 16th birthday in 2006

When I tell people that I’m a poet, I sometimes get strange looks and responses like “really? I didn’t know that people still did that!” Saying you’re a poet is kind of like claiming to be an elf or a knight or an outhouse repairwoman. Nevertheless, I’ve been writing poetry since I was a girl, studied literature, creative writing, and dance in college, and then went on to earn my MFA degree in Creative Writing in 2007. Like being a professional elf, being a poet doesn’t assure a steady income, so you have to be in it for the love.

Emily Dickinson love

Since then, I’ve taught English and Composition at the college level, worked as a publicist at Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, and have had the great fortune of being awarded two fellowships from The Fine Arts Work Center, an artist colony in Provincetown, Massachusetts, which has been around since 1968.

View of The Fine Arts Work Center on a sunny day

I’m currently in the midst of my Second Year Poetry Fellowship here at the FAWC. Though I miss North Carolina, Provincetown is a great place to be because it’s a gorgeous, historic seaside town on the tip of Cape Cod with a rich artistic tradition.

Provincetown in October before the last weekend tourists leave town

The seven-month fellowship spans the winter months, October through April, so the town is very empty and a great place to work and take walks on the dunes. Also, since there are 10 visual artists and 10 writers each year, it’s a wonderful artistic community. I love seeing what the visual artists are up to – it’s very inspiring and helps me to think about my poetry in new ways.

Works by Brooklyn Artist Rob Swainston

One of the things I love most about The Makery is its commitment to exposing art lovers to new artists and craftspeople who may be right in their backyard, creating connections and relationships between people. Art has the ability to enrich our lives every day, and it’s an extra bonus to be able to support local makers at the same time!

Leave a Reply

