Cookies and Poems

I had the honor of giving a reading of my poems here at the Fine Arts Work Center on Saturday night. In my anticipatory nervousness I was inspired to make a dessert for the after-party, and I decided to try out the set of Williams-Sonoma Kransekake cookie cutters that my mother sent to me at Christmastime.

Kransekake is a Scandinavian dessert usually made with rings of almond cake — mine is a sugar cookie rendition, and I used white and green icing for spring. Next time I might add some almond extract to the batter for increased authenticity (and deliciousness).

The cookies were very tasty and were all gobbled up at the party (along with the yummy buffalo tempeh/avocado/endive appetizer that my husband likes to make).

My writing fellowship here on Cape Cod is winding down with only two weeks left. Then we’re on the road back to Durham where new adventures await!

Leave a Reply

