Middle Sister News and DIY Painting

Greetings friends. I’m here to deliver exciting news as well as share a fun DIY painting project.

I’ve been a few steps removed from the Makery this past month because I have been preparing for the arrival of a very special delivery….

Baby is due to arrive in a matter of days and I’ve been busy nesting- sewing, painting, cleaning etc. This event has required that I take a step back from my Makery responsibilities for a few months as my husband and I prepare and welcome our first little one into the world. Sarah Rose and Krista Anne (and Whitney and Molly) have been fantastic in supporting my need to take a few months away from the Makery- so thank you ladies! And rest assured that I will be back as soon as I can.

DIY Painting Nursery Walls with Lazure Painting Technique 

I want to share one of the fun nesting projects that my mom and I completed in the nursery. There is a lot to say about the technique of Lazure painting, but I am no expert. If you are interested in learning more about it I’d direct you to good ole’ google or Daniel Kerr-Wilsons site has good basic info.

My mom was the one who taught me the technique- and having someone walk you through the steps in person is invaluable. But I will do my best to give you the run down in case you want to give it a try.

The technique gives a soft almost watercolor-like appearance. We kept the colors simple (just using yellow and red) and were able to create a wide range of hues without getting too complicated with colors choices. It is a slow and steady process as the color is applied very thinly in multiple layers, but the results give any room a warmth and liveliness that is not matched by other techniques.

Supplies:

Matte Medium

Acrylic paint

Water

2 Large Natural Bristle Brushes (around 6″ wide and 2″ thick)

Buckets for paint

Rags for clean-up

At least one friend to help

How To:

Disclaimer: Again, I am not an expert! This is a technique that is taken very seriously by some and there are a few different ways to mix the pigments to get the desired effect. The version I will describe here is a simple layman’s version.

1. Mix your pigment. Using 14 parts water, 1 part matte medium and a dime size blob of your acrylic color to begin. Mix very well as the color has a tendency to fall to the bottom of the bucket. The color of the water will be very pale and milky. Below is my mom mixing up the yellow.

2. Paint. Begin with white walls for best results. You’ll keep one brush as your “wet brush” and one as your “dry brush” Begin by using your wet brush to apply the paint solution in large figure-8 motions onto the wall. As the paint tends to drip a bit, it is best to start up high and work down the wall. Wait a minute or so and then follow up with the same motion using the dr brush. This is when it is helpful to have another person working with you so you don’t have to switch from brush to brush and you can continue the “flow” a little easier (although it can be done with one person).

3. After you have completed one layer of paint you begin again once the wall has dried. With proceeding layers you can mix your paint stronger (Round 2- 10 parts water, 1 part matte medium, dime blob of acrylic paint, Round 3- 8 parts water, 1 part matte medium, dime blob acrylic paint etc). It can be a slow process, but the layers are what creates the soft feel and what gives Lazuring it’s unique look. I would guess that my mom and I did around 8-10 layers of paint for the room pictured below.

Our results:

(You can click on the photos for a closer look)

What do you think? It doesn’t work in every room but the technique is great in spaces where you want to create some living color and warmth. I’m pleased with the results and can’t wait to bring our little bundle of joy into this cozy room.

That’s all from me for now.  I’ll be back as soon as this little one arrives and I get a handle on motherhood.

Leave a Reply

